Love your work

photo credit: kjunstorm

I’m a little disheartened by the amount of negativity pumping through the online world at the moment. From the anti-Jessica Watson sentiment to the collective virtual eye-rolling when a reality contestant cries, from snark on industry forums to ripping apart campaigns that push the boundaries, from the vitriol against Facebook to the Microsoft/Apple showdowns that put football hooligans to shame.

We are bordering on confusing an opinion delivered with conviction with self righteous tirades and I’m not entirely sure why. Sometimes I think we just feel the need to sound confident when blogging on a topical point, or stimulating conversation through stirring the pot and this is easier to do with criticism. Sometimes  I think we’re simply afraid to share with the world what we really like.

So instead of getting all negative on why we’re all negative, I’d like to share a few of my favourite online things:

I would love to hear what you love, either in the comments below, by blogging about something that’s made you all warm and fuzzy from the online world recently or tweeting with #loveyourwork.

UPDATE: in the spirit of #loveyourwork Brighita has shared a few things here

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

~ by mandi bateson on May 18, 2010.

12 Responses to “Love your work”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mandi, David Bathur. David Bathur said: Agreed, the Twinternets bring out too much snark. Nice post. RT @mab397: Sharing a few things that I love http://bit.ly/8XNS0L #loveyourwork […]

  2. It’s so nice to read something that leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy. A few of my online favourites:
    – I love the daily photos of Manly from http://www.saltmotion.com
    – I never tire of the #sydneymorningphoto posted on Twitter
    – Love pancakes which if why I love tweets from @jimspancakes
    – Really like the tweets from @ColesOnline
    Thanks for spreading a bit of positivity 🙂

  3. I’m probably guilty of much of what you say – but I’d like to think I do provide a healthy dose of praise as well. Just in case, there’s an imbalance here’s some more:

    @mab397 is one of the few on twitter who will consistently make me laugh out loud. #loveyourwork

    I love @jimmyfallon he’s my fave and coco but he’s not on TV and I don’t have the coin* to see his shows in the US. (*thats one of his expressions)

    Did I also mention I love True Blood, especially on DVD and even moreso series Two. 😉

    • thanks Mal! although jimmyfallon over coco? hmmm.

      good thing you like True Blood Season 2 on DVD! very good thing!

  4. Well darling – you’ve done it again with a bold post on a necessary topic. Thanks for being brave and calling out (in a positive & non-threatening way) what is happening.

    I admire that you put yourself as part of the solution instead of just reporting your observations. You have a big brain that is constantly watching, processing, reflecting & sharing. This is just one of your qualities that keeps me in awe of you.

    I do a lot of watching on twitter & I’m mystified by it. I don’t know why the negative beats the positive but maybe, like in media, drama & strife is more entertaining. Rewarding & supporting bad behaviour is – to put it simply – bad.

    I do not like seeing people’s dreams, their experiments, their personal thoughts being criticised continuously. Nobody gets it right all the time, and it would be nice if there was a little more compassion & encouragement (speaking from personal experience). But without it, I guess I wouldn’t have found some truly beautiful people who have become very important to me. For that I’m grateful.

    I have been critical, too. Not my finest moments – but I’ve decided recently that life is too short to be insecure & scared. Thank you for reminding me of this.

    I’m proud to call you a friend, & continue to be inspired by your honesty, your clarity & your strength.

    Thanks, Mandi – can’t wait to see what’s next!

    • Thanks so much Kristin, there seems to be a lot of hesitation as people brace themselves for criticism just for going out on a limb. But that’s why fortune favours the brave I guess! And I agree, if it takes some shit to see where you know you can draw strength, it’s all good in the end.
      Please feel free to give me a poke if I’m not practising what I preach!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment Kristin, it’s always appreciated 🙂

  5. Word!

    I personally think insecurity is too blame. The theory is simple & not an unknown one and goes ‘if I cast you in a negative light then you won’t focus on my shortcomings’. This is a house of precariously placed cards.

    Have an opinion but don’t stamp on someone else to voice it. Also, if you feel downtrodden just say so – you’ll be surprised how many people are out there and who will reach out.

    Here are a few of my favourite inspiring online things at the moment:

    Flickr:

    January 1st, 2010 - 01/365

    Take a couple of hours and work your way through it. Here is a man that I admire for bearing his soul and pushing the boundaries. When Awesome awesome talent.
    Ryan is also on twitter here: @unkonshus

    Twitter:

    #iphoneography – this hashtag is better than sliced bread. You may be behind a computer screen, but clicking through this hastag you are out there in the wild, in seconds.

    One person who does this topic an incredible justice is: @oggsie – all his pics make me stop and think about how good that moment is.

    Webby Sites:

    IDAHO – The International Day Against Homophobia
    The recognition of people no matter their preference makes me giddy.
    http://www.thisisoz.com.au/

    The Wayside Chapel
    They work tirelessly in the Kings Cross area, helping those who cannot help themselves. Their work strengthen’s my faith in the innate good of the human race.
    http://www.thewaysidechapel.com/

    P.S. Mandi I am really glad my tweets give you a kick. Really glad!

  6. […] keen on tying it up with absolute rules and our opinions on it seem even more rigid. Recently I blogged: We are bordering on confusing an opinion delivered with conviction with self righteous tirades and […]

  7. Although I have no real credibility in the whole ‘social media’ stakes, and I’m not in the PR/marketing biz – this post resonated with me most because I’m a reactionary type person. If someone is grumpy, snarky, nasty around me; I tend to almost lean into that behaviour. I don’t like it at all. Even when there’s a TV show being tweeted, it seems the most retweeted tweets are of the negative variety. I really don’t get it. I’ve made a point of unfollowing those that only seem to find negative posts the way they seek entertainment because I would rather surround myself (even in an online sense) with positive, bubbly, feel-good, smile-inducing type people. That’s the whole point of Twitter I feel. I want to be around people, that inspire me to BE a better person. Because Lord knows, in the morning pre-coffee, I am NOT nice. Thanks for this blog post; you may have in turn inspired me.. 🙂

  8. […] far as what got people talking, these two posts about social media and customer service and spreading the love sneak into the top […]

Leave a Reply

 
