New job feeling

So on Monday I started my new job – Digital Director at Hill & Knowlton. This week has reminded me of something: we are living in a digital world (and I am a digital girl). Here’s what I mean:

I was approached on LinkedIn and the interview process kicked off from there

I used documents on Slideshare, Scribd and my blog to support my CV

I connected with my future colleagues on Twitter throughout my 4 week notice period

My appointment was announced on industry blog Mumbrella

I was able to celebrate the news with my friends and family on Facebook

I’ve been getting to know my new local area with tips on Foursquare

Maybe it’s my impending 30th birthday but this has spun me out a little. During the interview process I was asked where I saw myself in 5 years. In my response I reflected on my answer to that same question 5 years ago – I wanted to be doing something that I loved and I wanted to be good at it. While I’m chuffed that it seems to be playing out ok, I don’t think I could have guessed that digital would have had such an impact on my life and my career.

~ by mandi bateson on July 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “New job feeling”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mandi, Sarah Peacock, Katinka Looise, jessiemorris, Mandi Bateson and others. Mandi Bateson said: Blogged: New job feeling http://bit.ly/9K1ShL […]

  2. that is a lovely post. gonna tweet it immediately

  3. Just read this blog post out to my uni class. Talking about privacy, my point was how stuff like this is working. I suggested that this kind of activity is almost standard now. Thanks for taking the time to post in the first place.

    Cam

  4. […] am up to the CV part, and I have decided to modify my linked in profile for the base CV.   I know Mandi has had success with this before. With that said, it is pretty old, pretty neglected, so I have decided to post a copy of the old […]

Leave a Reply

 
