Question of the month

To kick of 2011 I started what I’m calling Question of the Month because each month I’m asking those who happen upon this blog a question. Pretty simple, hey? This month I’d like to investigate the reactions to social media stunts. In the days before Valentine’s Day a bank had us talking with what was assumed to be a mistweet:

It was quickly RTd and few (if any) were to know that the tweet itself was the teaser to a campaign called The Breakup. Retweets were answered by NAB individually with a a link to the campaign video and an explanation of the campaign.

Fast forward to one of the most viewed videos of the week:

Rear View Girls just happens to be a campaign for Levi’s and this unbranded hot piece of entertainment has caught the attention of  over 7 million viewers to date.

So my question to you is this. What’s the difference between fooling your audience (and pissing them off) and a clever, attention-grabbing teaser? As SMEGs espouse the importance of transparency, can you get away with stunts like those from NAB and Levi’s or will the reveal backfire faster than you can say “sentiment analysis”?

 

~ by mandi bateson on February 25, 2011.

3 Responses to “Question of the month”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mandi, Mandi Bateson. Mandi Bateson said: New blog post: Question of the month http://wp.me/pkRCQ-hf […]

  2. I didn’t like the NAB Campaign – but I thought it was well executed. It got a lot of people talking, and at the end of the day the message was clear, and people were aware of what they’re doing. The front page of the paper the following day was also just reinforcing the NAB message. It was also pretty funny to see Westpac sympathising before becoming the object of the campaign. It was certainly fun to watch.

    Perhaps it pissed off the SMEGS, but it got attention and isn’t that the point? Transparency is the ideal, but this is a clever ploy. I know now that NAB will pay my mortgage early exit fee and while I don’t have a mortgage. If I did, I’m sure it’s something I’d consider.

Leave a Reply

 
